Another Moment From Room 46

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Parent Night Party Crasher October 4, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — psuintx @ 10:13 PM
Tags: , ,

There is nothing that makes me more nervous than Parent Orientation Night. My imagination gets the best of me and I think there is more of them than there are of me. I always picture an angry mob chasing me down the hall or a riot breaking out in the classroom. What it really comes down to is I am nervous speaking in front of a lot of people.

This year was no exception. I waited by my door and began to greet the parents coming into the classroom. I notice a short, gray-haired woman walk into my classroom. I thought it was odd that I didn’t know her so I walked up and introduced myself.

She proceeds to tell me that she does not have a grandchild that attends my class. She does, however, have one in another 3rd grade at another school. She decided to attend the Parent Night at our school since it’s closest to her house.

Let me take a minute to point out that she had a 1 out of 5 chance of choosing my classroom.

Anyway, I figured she wasn’t going to cause any harm so I left her alone. I began my well prepared power point and briefly talked about each slide. And that’s when she started. She questioned the curriculum, my teaching style, and my knowledge in general. The parents were beginning to get frustrated and I was getting more nervous.

I felt like a Muppet being heckled by Statler and Waldorf.

As you could image I survived. Afterwards I though this only could have happened to me.

 

The Revival of the Blog

Filed under: Uncategorized — psuintx @ 9:47 PM
Tags: , ,

re·viv·al [ri-vahy-vuhl] noun

1. restoration to life, consciousness, vigor, strength, etc.

2. restoration to use, acceptance, or currency: the revival of old customs.
3. a new production of an old play.
4. a showing of an old motion picture.
5. an awakening, in a church or community, of interest in and care for matters relating to personal religion.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I have decided to restore life and vigor into this old blog. What better way to start off than with a ninja story.
A few weeks ago I wore a new pair of dark wash jeans. A co-worker saw me and said, “Hey, it was jeans day. You forgot to wear jeans.”
“These are jeans,” I pointed out.
“Oh, you must have ninja jeans on,” He said and walked away. Huh? It did, however, make me laugh.
Later in the day I was talking like Dory (from “Finding Nemo”). One kid says, “Oh, you speak whale. You look like one today too.”
I’m sure there was horror across my face. He quickly recovered by saying, “You have black and white on just like a whale.”
I laughed and said, “First a ninja and now a whale. Just call me Whale Ninja.”
And they did…but only for a few days.

http://thinginmyhead.com/

Whale Ninja thinginmyhead.com